Your Song is Your Humanity

If you would have told me ten years ago what my life had in store for me, I would have laughed at the craziness of what life had yet to unfold, then I would have taken a moment to pause and think to myself if it was possible. My love for writing has always been present since early childhood, but it wasnt until I was at a low in my life, eight years ago, when I began to see the healing powers it had upon my soul.

When I really began to pour out my words for others to read was when I found a piece of myself I never knew existed. Call me crazy, but nothing made a lick of sense to me until that moment. I had lived my life always questioning what my journey held. I questioned college, and even had several jobs that I considered to hold my passion, only to come to the conclusion that my passion was elsewhere. I was at a disadvantage in life(Or so I thought). I was almost thirty wondering where my life had gone and where did I go wrong? However, I learned along the way that God has timing unlike anything I have ever seen. He was preparing me along the way and I was just too blinded to see it within my own timing.

It took me along time to get here in this moment. It took moving away from Sweet Home Alabama, to show me where my heart thrived. It took me facing obstacles, diversities, and even self reflection to be standing today with the words to write, and inspire. I even remember the moment when it all clicked. I found myself constantly telling others I was meeting, along my travels, of how amazing my hometown was and how they should visit. It wasn’t just interesting for me, it was like breathing air. You see I love The Shoals. I love the history it holds within the small towns that surround one another. I love the music that is never ending and the way our community thrives with the words hidden between the beat.

That was when I realized music and myself are a lot alike. I may not be one who speaks openly about my day to day life, but I can give you the words to read, and connect. This is what makes the sound of our own come to light. Whether you are hidden within the music, or an open book, our words have more of an impact than we can imagine. Which is why I believe our stories can bring to light a situation someone else is pursuing.

Its beautiful and it is relatable. Which is why I decided then and there that if God ever brought me back home, I would find a way to intertwine our stories and make them human. This is what we need yall. It is that humanity that creates a life worth living. Who is to say that the last person you came in contact with needed your story. Who is to say that your past had a purpose, even when your own doubt was suffocating you.

So sing your songs with passion. Sing them with pride, because that songstress within you needs to be heard by someone who needs to be inspired.

There is Music within our stories. Some dark, some happy, some fun. But all music is inspiring to the right listener.

Mary Swinney

Author: Mary Swinney

Growing up in the Tri-Cities the love I had for the area tilted more towards how Id love to leave, rather than to see what the area had to offer. I didn't want to see at the time just how enchanting my hometown was. As soon as the chance arose my family and I made our way to Rhode Island. Once there we made some amazing life long friends, who took us in, and showed us just how proud they were of their state. It may be the smallest of all the states, but it was packed with charm and adventure. Each week we were visiting new restraunts, meeting new people, and visiting so many areas that I had only dreamed of. The residents were so proud of what they all had built together that it made me realize just how much I had missed out on back home. I have always been proud of my Southern Roots and I vowed that if God ever brought me back to my hometown I would make it my mission to explore the best it had to offer. I have been back for two years and have fallen in love with so many places. It is my mission now to bring my small town back to life and spread the word on how charming the Tri-Cities truly is.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started